Click here for a complete list of what has recently been added to our physical collections. From that link, you can also subscribe to Wowbrary newsletters, which you can customize to alert you when new books you might be interested in are purchased by the Library.

RSS Wowbrary: Latest Books, Movies, and Music in the Simon Fairfield Public Library

  • The Thief Knot: A Greenglass House Story
    By Kate Milford. Ghosts, a kidnapping, a crew of young detectives, and family secrets mix in this new standalone mystery set in the world of the bestselling Greenglass House, from a National Book Award nominee and Edgar Award-winning author.Marzana and her best friend are bored. Even though they live in a notorious city where normal […]
  • Scavenge the Stars
    By Tara Sim. When Amaya rescues a mysterious stranger from drowning, she fears her rash actions have earned her a longer sentence on the debtor ship where she's been held captive for years. Instead, the man she saved offers her unimaginable riches and a new identity, setting Amaya on a perilous course through the coastal […]
  • Undaunted: The Wild Life of Biruté Mary Galdikas and Her Fearless Quest to Save Orangutans
    By Anita Silvey. As a young scientist, Birute Mary Galdikas had a mission: To find and study the elusive orangutans of Borneo's rain forest to help protect this amazing and elusive species.Follow her story as she carries out an epic search and struggles to survive while studying the world's most endangered great ape.When Galdikas saw […]
  • Manhattan: Mapping the Story of an Island
    By Jennifer Thermes. Told in dazzling maps and informative sidebars, Manhattan explores the 400+ year history of Manhattan Island.From before its earliest settlement to the vibrant metropolis that exists today, the island of Manhattan has always been a place of struggle, growth, and radical transformation. Humans, history, and natural events have shaped this tiny sliver […]
  • Look Up with Me: Neil deGrasse Tyson: A Life Among the Stars
    By Jennifer Berne. With an introduction from Neil DeGrasse Tyson about the importance of kid-like curiosity, this lyrical picture book biography on the beloved astrophysicist and host of Cosmos is the perfect gift for young astronomers and fans of all ages.Neil deGrasse Tyson was born curious. And the secrets of a billion galaxies lay there—waiting […]
  • Evelyn the Adventurous Entomologist: The True Story of a World-Traveling Bug Hunter
    By Christine Evans. Back in 1881, when Evelyn Cheesman was born, English girls were expected to be clean and dressed in frilly dresses. But Evelyn crawled in dirt and collected glow worms in jars. When girls grew up they were expected to marry and look after children. But Evelyn took charge of the London Zoo […]
  • Gods of the Upper Air: How a Circle of Renegade Anthropologists Reinvented Race, Sex, and Gender in the Twentieth Century
    By Charles King. A dazzling group portrait of Franz Boas, the founder of cultural anthropology, and his circle of women scientists, who upended American notions of race, gender, and sexuality in the 1920s and 1930s--a sweeping chronicle of how our society began to question the basic ways we understand other cultures and ourselves.At the end […]
  • Instructions Not Included: How a Team of Women Coded the Future
    By Tami Lewis Brown and Debbie Loren Dunn. Click. Whir. Buzz.Not so long ago, math problems had to be solved with pencil and paper, mail delivered by postman, and files were stored in paper folders and metal cabinets. But three women, Betty Snyder, Jean Jennings, and Kay McNulty knew there could be a better way. […]
  • Kill Reply All: A Modern Guide to Online Etiquette, from Social Media to Work to Love
    By Victoria Turk. Want to Marie Kondo your digital life and develop a more mindful, meaningful relationship with technology? By a leading tech and digital culture journalist, Kill Reply All is a guide to tidying up your relationship with technology.How do you reply to your colleague's weird e-mail? What would Emily Post say about your […]
  • The Journey to the Mayflower: God's Outlaws and the Invention of Freedom
    By Stephen Tomkins. An authoritative and immersive history of the far-reaching events in England that led to the sailing of the Mayflower.2020 brings readers the 400th anniversary of the sailing of the Mayflower―the ship that took the Pilgrim Fathers to the New World. It is a foundational event in American history, but it began as […]
  • Hill Women: Finding Family and a Way Forward in the Appalachian Mountains
    By Cassie Chambers. After rising from poverty to earn two Ivy League degrees, an Appalachian lawyer pays tribute to the strong “hill women” who raised and inspired her, and whose values have the potential to rejuvenate a struggling region—an uplifting and eye-opening memoir for readers of Hillbilly Elegy and Educated.Nestled in the Appalachian mountains, Owsley […]
  • Game Of Thrones: The Complete Eighth Season
  • Joker
    Forever alone in a crowd, failed comedian Arthur Fleck seeks connection as he walks the streets of Gotham City. Arthur wears two masks -- the one he paints for his day job as a clown, and the guise he projects in a futile attempt to feel like he's part of the world around him. Isolated, […]
  • How to Train Your Dragon Book 7: How to Ride a Dragon's Storm
    By Cressida Cowell. Hiccup Horrendous Haddock III, everyone's favorite reluctant Viking hero, has three months, five days and six hours to discover America, get back to Berk, save his father, battle Polarserpents, and win the annual Inter-Tribal Friendly Swimming Race. Can he do it?
  • Arabs: A 3,000-Year History of Peoples, Tribes and Empires
    By Tim Mackintosh-Smith. A riveting, comprehensive history of the Arab peoples and tribes that explores the role of language as a cultural touchstoneThis kaleidoscopic book covers almost 3,000 years of Arab history and shines a light on the footloose Arab peoples and tribes who conquered lands and disseminated their language and culture over vast distances.
  • Race to the Sun
    By Rebecca Roanhorse. Lately, seventh grader Nizhoni Begay has been able to detect monsters, like that man in the fancy suit who was in the bleachers at her basketball game. Turns out he's Mr. Charles, her dad's new boss at the oil and gas company, and he's alarmingly interested in Nizhoni and her brother, Mac, […]
  • Imperfect Union: How Jessie and John Frémont Mapped the West, Invented Celebrity, and Helped Cause the Civil War
    By Steve Inskeep. Steve Inskeep tells the riveting story of John and Jessie Frémont, the husband and wife team who in the 1800s were instrumental in the westward expansion of the United States, and thus became America's first great political coupleJohn Frémont grew up amid family tragedy and shame. Born out of wedlock in 1813, […]
  • Machines in Motion: The Amazing History of Transportation
    By Tom Jackson. Every day, all over the world, people travel: short trips or great, long voyages, moving slowly and steadily or racing along at super-fast speeds. They make their trips in cars, trains, planes, ships and on bikes-and some people have even blasted off in rockets! But how did these vehicles become what we […]
  • The Enemies of Rome: The Barbarian Rebellion Against the Roman Empire
    By Stephen Kershaw . A fresh and vivid narrative history of the Roman Empire from the point of view of the “barbarian” enemies of Rome.History is written by the victors, and Rome had some very eloquent historians. Those the Romans regarded as barbarians left few records of their own, but they had a tremendous impact […]
  • Into the Deep: An Exploration of Our Oceans
    By Wolfgang Dreyer. Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you journey from the beach to the depths of the ocean floor.Beneath the surface of the ocean lies a mysterious and astounding world that few people ever get to see. This book merges breathtaking art with the latest scientific research to take readers […]